Excel Tutorial
Excel tutorials, quizzes & AI guides — all levels
RSS
  • Online Excel Exercises
  • Training
  • Excel Tests
  • Sitemap
  • Premium Quizzes
  • Shop
  • My account

Discover Data Type in Excel

Intermediate Excel Skills: Tutorials and Articles
Reading time: 3 minutes
Views: 1,980

The Data Type feature in Excel is a remarkable tool for collection information about countries or or stock exchange. However, the term ‘Data Type’ might be a bit misleading as it does not relate to traditional computer data types such as strings, dates, integers, longs, etc.

How to connect to Data Type in Excel

To use this tool, you must have Excel 365 and an active web connection. Its principle is to collect information stored by Microsoft.

Consider an example in which you need to calculate the new prices of your products based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI). To avoid spending hours searching the net for this information, you can simply use Data Type.

  1. List the names of countries in your cells.
  2. Select your cells
  3. Activate the tool Data > Data Type > Geography
Data Type menu in the Data tab
  1. After a few seconds, an icon appears in the cells, indicating that the connection to the database has been established.
Data Type connected to the database

Open the card

The card is the name of all the infomations related to a country. To open it, simply put your mouse over the icon and click on it

Show cards of Data Type

How to collect data

Once the icon is visible in the cells, you can add properties by clicking on the icon Insert Data. There, you select the property you want to add.

Icon insert Data

You can see that the formula return the result is super simple

=A2.CPI

Formula to return a result with Data Type

But the best technique is to add you data inside a Table. Like that, when you add a Data Type value, automatically the column header is the name you have selected.

Data Type in a Table add the headers

Nested Data Type with Geography

Something absolutely amazing is the property Subdivision. For instance, you want to add extract all the States of the USA. In this situation, you will add only one country name with the Data Type because like that, the States will be added in many cells.

Data Type Subdivisions

As you can see, automatically, the icon is added next to each state’s name. Like that, you can add properties according each states 😀👍

Data Type for the subdivision

Related articles

  • Connect slicer with Data Type
  • Live Quotes Stock in Excel
  • Quotations Stock Market History in Excel
  • Generate a QR Code with Excel

Frédéric LE GUEN

Data Type, geography

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Viewed Posts

  • Displaying Negative Numbers in Parentheses in Excel (310,065)
  • Top 10 Excel Functions You Must Know (232,001)
  • How to make automatic calendar in Excel (212,775)
  • Dash for a zero in Excel automatically (190,812)
  • Converting a Date from YYYYMMDD to DD/MM/YYYY in Excel (171,033)
image excel exercises
Excel Exercises
image excel quizzes
Excel Quizzes

Discover Data Type in Excel

Reading time: 3 minutes
Views: 1,980

The Data Type feature in Excel is a remarkable tool for collection information about countries or or stock exchange. However, the term ‘Data Type’ might be a bit misleading as it does not relate to traditional computer data types such as strings, dates, integers, longs, etc.

How to connect to Data Type in Excel

To use this tool, you must have Excel 365 and an active web connection. Its principle is to collect information stored by Microsoft.

Consider an example in which you need to calculate the new prices of your products based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI). To avoid spending hours searching the net for this information, you can simply use Data Type.

  1. List the names of countries in your cells.
  2. Select your cells
  3. Activate the tool Data > Data Type > Geography
Data Type menu in the Data tab
  1. After a few seconds, an icon appears in the cells, indicating that the connection to the database has been established.
Data Type connected to the database

Open the card

The card is the name of all the infomations related to a country. To open it, simply put your mouse over the icon and click on it

Show cards of Data Type

How to collect data

Once the icon is visible in the cells, you can add properties by clicking on the icon Insert Data. There, you select the property you want to add.

Icon insert Data

You can see that the formula return the result is super simple

=A2.CPI

Formula to return a result with Data Type

But the best technique is to add you data inside a Table. Like that, when you add a Data Type value, automatically the column header is the name you have selected.

Data Type in a Table add the headers

Nested Data Type with Geography

Something absolutely amazing is the property Subdivision. For instance, you want to add extract all the States of the USA. In this situation, you will add only one country name with the Data Type because like that, the States will be added in many cells.

Data Type Subdivisions

As you can see, automatically, the icon is added next to each state’s name. Like that, you can add properties according each states 😀👍

Data Type for the subdivision

Related articles

  • Connect slicer with Data Type
  • Live Quotes Stock in Excel
  • Quotations Stock Market History in Excel
  • Generate a QR Code with Excel
Tags: Data Typegeography

Frédéric LE GUEN

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact us
About me 
Privacy Policy

© 2022 – 2026 – excel-tutorial.com. All Rights Reserved.
Excel Tutorial is managed by majordome du net

Contact us
About me 
Privacy Policy

© 2022 – 2026 – excel-tutorial.com. All Rights Reserved.
Excel Tutorial is managed by majordome du net