Excel Tutorial
Excel tutorials, quizzes & AI guides — all levels
RSS
  • Online Excel Exercises
  • Training
  • Excel Tests
  • Sitemap
  • Premium Quizzes
  • Shop
  • My account

Change Formula Bar Font Size in Excel

Manage data - Tips and Tricks
Reading time: 2 minutes
Views: 15,328

The formula bar font in Excel can look smaller on high-resolution screens, but it’s easy to adjust. Also, you can change the default family font ‘Monospace’ for a better reading.

How to Adjust the Formula Bar Font Size

If you find the default font size too small, follow these steps to increase it:

  1. Go to File > Options.
  2. Click on the General tab.
  3. Adjust the Font Size (e.g., 16).
  4. Restart Excel to apply the changes.
Option to change the font size in the General Tab

You can also find the same option under the Accessibility tab. Here’s how:

  1. Go to File > Options.
  2. Open the Accessibility tab.
  3. Adjust the Font Size (e.g., 16).
  4. Restart Excel to see the changes.
Option to change the font size in the Accessibility Tab

Change Font Family ‘Monospace’

In 2024, Microsoft decided to change the font family of the formula bar to Monospace. The goal was to have all the letters the same width to simplify readability. However, many people don’t like this new font.

But, you can revert to the previous font family from Excel 365 options by going to the menu File > Excel Options > Formulas > Use Monospace font for all formulas

Formula Bar Font Monospace

Conclusion

Adjusting the formula bar font in Excel improves readability and reduces eye strain, especially for long work sessions.

  • Use Display Settings: Enlarge Windows display settings to make Excel, including the formula bar, more readable.
  • Use Zoom: While not specific to the formula bar, zooming increases the visible size of all content in Excel.

These simple adjustments help create a comfortable workspace, ensuring productivity and visual comfort.

Related articles

  • How to do a Save As with Excel Online
  • Display negative time in Excel
  • Change Excel Language Easily

Frédéric LE GUEN

Tips and tricks

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Viewed Posts

  • Displaying Negative Numbers in Parentheses in Excel (310,065)
  • Top 10 Excel Functions You Must Know (232,001)
  • How to make automatic calendar in Excel (212,775)
  • Dash for a zero in Excel automatically (190,813)
  • Converting a Date from YYYYMMDD to DD/MM/YYYY in Excel (171,034)
image excel exercises
Excel Exercises
image excel quizzes
Excel Quizzes

Change Formula Bar Font Size in Excel

Reading time: 2 minutes
Views: 15,328

The formula bar font in Excel can look smaller on high-resolution screens, but it’s easy to adjust. Also, you can change the default family font ‘Monospace’ for a better reading.

How to Adjust the Formula Bar Font Size

If you find the default font size too small, follow these steps to increase it:

  1. Go to File > Options.
  2. Click on the General tab.
  3. Adjust the Font Size (e.g., 16).
  4. Restart Excel to apply the changes.
Option to change the font size in the General Tab

You can also find the same option under the Accessibility tab. Here’s how:

  1. Go to File > Options.
  2. Open the Accessibility tab.
  3. Adjust the Font Size (e.g., 16).
  4. Restart Excel to see the changes.
Option to change the font size in the Accessibility Tab

Change Font Family ‘Monospace’

In 2024, Microsoft decided to change the font family of the formula bar to Monospace. The goal was to have all the letters the same width to simplify readability. However, many people don’t like this new font.

But, you can revert to the previous font family from Excel 365 options by going to the menu File > Excel Options > Formulas > Use Monospace font for all formulas

Formula Bar Font Monospace

Conclusion

Adjusting the formula bar font in Excel improves readability and reduces eye strain, especially for long work sessions.

  • Use Display Settings: Enlarge Windows display settings to make Excel, including the formula bar, more readable.
  • Use Zoom: While not specific to the formula bar, zooming increases the visible size of all content in Excel.

These simple adjustments help create a comfortable workspace, ensuring productivity and visual comfort.

Related articles

  • How to do a Save As with Excel Online
  • Display negative time in Excel
  • Change Excel Language Easily
Tags: Tips and tricks

Frédéric LE GUEN

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact us
About me 
Privacy Policy

© 2022 – 2026 – excel-tutorial.com. All Rights Reserved.
Excel Tutorial is managed by majordome du net

Contact us
About me 
Privacy Policy

© 2022 – 2026 – excel-tutorial.com. All Rights Reserved.
Excel Tutorial is managed by majordome du net